Council of the HKUST

About the Council

The Council is the supreme governing and executive body
of the University. It exercises the powers and duties of
the University as specified in the Ordinance. It is

responsible for investments, contracts, property, senior
appointments, budget, finance, making of statutes, etc.

Presided over by a lay person (i.e. someone who is not
an employee of the University), the Council consists of
16 other lay members, the President, academic and administrative representatives, an elected student and an elected staff member, making a complement of 27. The Council normally meets in plenary session three times each year. The summary of decisions of each Council meeting can be found
here. When the Council is not in session, an executive committee known as the Standing Committee of the Council meets regularly to discharge the function of the Council.

A number of other committees have also been established by the Council.

Relevant University Ordinance  
Guidelines for Council Members  
Council Membership  
Committees of the Council  
Standing Committee (Membership List)  
Audit Committee (Membership List)  
Campus Development Committee (Membership List)  
Finance Committee (Membership List)  
Honorary Awards Committee (Membership List)  
Human Resources Committee (Membership List)  
Institutional Advancement and Outreach Committee (Membership List)  
Knowledge Transfer Committee (Membership List)  
Senior Executives Affairs Committee (Membership List)  
Honorary Awards  
Honorary Doctorates  
Honorary Fellows  
Council Forum on University Governance (A Summary)