Senate of the HKUST

About the Senate

The Senate is the supreme academic body of the University.
It is responsible for setting and reviewing academic policies.
Chaired by the President, other members of the Senate
include the Executive Vice-President & Provost,

Vice-Presidents, Deans, heads of academic departments

and units, academic staff elected by their peers or co-opted

by the Senate, and student representatives. Its powers and

duties are detailed in University Statute 2. The Senate has

delegated some of its powers and duties to the many

committees that it has set up and the Boards of Schools.


Relevant University Ordinance and Statutes


Standing Orders of the Senate

Senate Membership

Agenda and Minutes

Meeting Dates

Committees of the Senate

Committee on Academic Integrity ( A Framework on Academic Integrity / Flowchart )

Committee on Postgraduate Studies

Research Committee

Scholarship Committee

Committee on Student Affairs

Student Disciplinary Committee (Summary of past cases)

Committee on Teaching and Learning Quality

Committee on Undergraduate Studies